Amanda's Workshop: Scratchbuilding Toward A Layout

WM183

Western Thunderer
Hi folks.

Well, I've settled in here, had a good look around, and I rather like it. I think it's time I tried to contribute, and to that end, welcome to my workbench thread. This is a great format for me, as I tend to wibble and wobble from project to project. I am a builder first, and an operator a distant second. For me, the research that goes into building a model, and then solving the actual construction puzzles the build presents, are nectar and ambrosia. Whether I am building a US or British model, however, I always start the same way: with researching the prototype. For reasons of economy and simple enjoyment, scratchbuilding, err... scratches my itch. Ahem.

For British prototype modelers this is (usually) straightforward. We are spoiled with a library of amazing reference material for virtually all goods stock, and for most passenger stock and locomotives. LMS and Midland modelers in particular could scarcely ask for more, so great is the library of reference at our disposal! Things are only slightly behind for the GWR, and further behind yet for the LNER, SR, and many pre-grouping companies. However...

If you model American stock, you're in for a ride. Aside from a very few roads that have a solid library behind them - Southern Pacific and the other Harriman lines, and Chesapeake & Ohio chief among them - you're gonna have to do some digging. Even large roads like New York Central or Pennsylvania have very little ready printed reference of actual use to the scratchbuilder. Much of what does exist are diagram books that have collections of long, skinny equipment diagrams that are nearly but not completely useless for our purposes. They often come in little paperback books, sold at train shows and through historical societies, and are full of images that look like this:

e6izfuY.png